Alpine Forget-Me-Not, State Flower of Alaska

Alpine Forget-Me-Not, State Flower of Alaska

The Alpine Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis Alpestris) was designated the official state flower of Alaska in 1949, however it was originally adopted in 1907, before Alaska was a state or a territory.

The "Grand Igloo," an organization of pioneers that had arrived in Alaska before 1900, were the first to choose the Alpine Forget-Me-Not as a symbol of the Alaskan region. After Alaska had been given authorization to set up a territorial government with limited powers, the people remained faithful to their favorite flower and made it the official emblem of the territory in 1917. When Alaska entered the union as the 49th state in 1959, they brought the Alpine Forget-Me-Not with them, designating it as the official state flower and floral emblem.

Alpine Forget-Me-Nots are a wild, native perennials that grow throughout Alaska’s high altitude meadows and in the rocky places of the mountains. They are found blooming, along with the Splendid Forget-Me-Not and Mountain Forget-Me-Not from late June to late July. The flowers grow in small clumps and give off little or no scent in the daytime, but become very fragrant in the evening and night time. This Alaskan flower belongs to one of the few plant families that exhibit true blue color in their blossoms. It is so tied to the state and its history that its blue color is said to have inspired the blue background of the state flag.

Source: Smithsonian Institute

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.